Castles and gardens in Celle
The Ducal Palace of Celle with unique renaissance chapel , once the residence of the mighty Duchy of Luneburg, is the oldest building of the town with foundation walls dating from 1292.
On a guided tour visitors can view the ducal state chambers in early baroque style of the 17th century, which are unique in northern Germany, the oldest theatre in Germany still in use (to view only after rehearsals),a complete palace kitchen from the 18th century and the palace chapel with its completely preserved renaissance furnishings from the 16th century. Further information
The French Garden
The French Garden probably owes his name to the French gardeners PERRONET (in 1670) and Rene DAHURON (1690-1701) who were in services of Celle's Duke Georg Wilhelm. The last one was in charge of the first laying out of a pleasance and a vegetable garden according to the courtly gardening tradition of the 17th century.
In the years 1695 and 1696 two parallel avenues of linden were planted. These avenues form a dominant central East-West axis until today (the linden avenue was completely renewed from 1951 until 1953). Further information
The past history of the palace grounds has started in the late 18th century; up to then the fortification remained unchanged.
Between 1784 and 1827 the fortification was demolished, starting with the western bastions. For the most part, the material was filled in the moat which was once very broad. The new grounds between palace and the moat reduced to an average breadth of 23 feet (circ. 6.7m) were planted with trees and used as promenade along a circular avenue of poplars. When in 1839 the resolution was passed to do up Celle's palace for the royal house of Hanover, the grounds on the other side of the palace moats were revoked from the leasing and bought respectively.Under the garden inspector SCHAUMBURG from Hanover there were taken measures to expand the grounds from 1847 until 1866. The area in front of the Superior Employment Appeal Tribunal - the actual Provincial High Court and Court of Appeal - was included in the grounds as well.
In the year 1868 the Royal Prussian Management of Court Gardens in Potsdam had taken on the administration of the palace grounds. Until today the grounds haven't been changed much. In 1899 plots of land of the western part were sold for building, in 1922 in front of the East side of the palace on the central lawn a memorial was put up to those killed in the World War One and in 1936 on occasion of the necessary widening of the "Mühlenstraße" a strip of the grounds got lost in the northern part.
Today the palace grounds are a very popular meeting point for Celle's citizens as well as for many tourists who are going to make a guided tou or just like to relax from their shopping spree. Further information
On the grounds of the former "Heath Barracks" bordering the old town and south of the historic French Garden a new town park was laid out. The town park with an area of 1.9 ha is situated on these military grounds rich in tradition surrounded by residential areas and the municipal admin building. The showpiece is a 2,200 square meters expanse of water which ends in a circular expanse with 20 meters in diameter. The park is structured by more than 70 new tall trees, 3,000 bushes and 1,000 hedgerow plants and the visitors are lead to their destination by the new pathes. Furthermore there are sufficient incentives to stay: Not only bees and butterflies are taking pleasure in the flowering splendour and the smell of 1,500 roses of all sorts, 25,000 shrubs and 20,000 bulbs but also Celle's citizen and tourists regard the town park as a new attraction. Further information
Medicinal Plant Garden
The Medicinal Plant Garden Celle offers a wealth of differing medicinal plants. The extensive grounds, the garden being one of the largest in Europe, invites visitors to stroll among the fragrant plants and to rest by a bubbling spring. Further information